AppleFest 5k 2010

So, Frank gave a good description of last weeks race, the AppleFest 5k, but I wanted to give my side of the race.  See, there were a few young runners I didn’t know and sometimes, the young guys go out fast and then fade some.  So, I wanted to go out near them and if they faded, I could start to pull away.  Well, it didn’t quite work out that way 🙂  We were running down the hill at the start and Frank told me I should be up there with those guys (later I find out he was kidding).  I looked at my GPS watch and saw we were 5:40/mile pace, a little slow, so, I picked it up.  Too bad I picked it up to about 4:20/mile pace!  That pace didn’t last long and neither did I.

We came through the mile at  5:06, and the eventual winner pulled away from me then.  He looked good and had a strong stride, so I knew I wouldn’t be catching him.  Then, Frank came up next to me and started pulling away.  I tried to stay with him, but I couldn’t.  So, Frank ran a good race and then doubles later to win the Springville 10k, and I stand out in the cold and ran (so did Frank) expecting my raffle name to be called, but no luck again!

This entry was posted in Races. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment